They say you learn

They say you learn who your true friends are when the chips are down. Can’t say I agree. I say you learn who your true friends are when the important things are going on.

Sure I had people there for me when I was down. Believed they were friends. They listened they supported. They tried to fix it.

But the moment things started going well for me they disappeared. Graduation, 30th birthday. Great days, new hobbies. They didnt acknowledge any of it.

You see they were fix it people. Needing to save people. Wanted me at their sad level. Didn’t like how I stood up for myself. How I well kept my home. Battled my demons. They couldn’t take the credit for what I’d done myself and they all ran.

Saddest part they walked away from someone truly there for them. Who wanted to celebrate their lives. Who hurt to see them in pain. Someone who apologised when wrong and held them in crisis.

Yet here I am the one feeling abandoned and rejected.

Maybe I just try to hard

17 thoughts on “They say you learn

  1. It sounds like you are a strong person and an amazing friend. Sometimes what we need is just that one person or two people who can stick for the good and the bad. I hope you have a “person,” if you watch Grey’s Anatomy you might understand that reference. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sounds like you are a wonderful person; it’s a shame about the people who have abandoned you. I’m facing a simlilar siutation at the moment in my Drama school. But, you are not alone because there will be those who will be there for you. And who knows, someday, there’ll be your best friend’s for life. Have faith because there’ll be someone out there for you someday. πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. That’s so sad! I don’t have many friends, but the ones I have are the type of people who I would definitely keep around during both a break-up, a wedding, a promotion or a zombie apocalypse, because I know no matter what they’ll stand by me. I hope you find people like them. True friends are precious things.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Yeah i think you do try to hard. Friends are suppose to be there for you when your down or up…true friends doesn’t leave you cuz you’re stand up for yourself, etc.. they celebrate your up/downs with you in life! πŸ˜›

    Like

  5. I agree with Katimjac. I have been going through a similar situation myself and im learning that true friends really should be there through everything.

    Like

  6. Oh, man. Reading this is reminding me of that Morrissey song, “We Hate It When Our Friends Become Successful.”

    One of the things I sooooo want to enjoy with others ARE the good times. I do like to help people but I LOVE human interaction with kindred spirits. (Can’t remember if I offered some Skype voice calls, but I’m offering it now.) Truly, I recently dropped a person I knew since I was ten years old because every so often I would hear, “The nice thing about you is I know you’ll always be there for me no matter how much time has passed.” Meanwhile I was hurting and struggling and she rarely helped with that at all.

    She called our friendship “love”. I finally realized it was taking me for granted. I’m looking for the lonely. There are so many of us there has to be some way for us to come together and cure that loneliness. And some of the entertainment I love are about enjoying the good things, the quiet moments, the funny anecdotes of odd encounters.

    If you’re sad, lonely, or even happy? My dear, I’m here and I’d love to talk more. Email, postal mail, phone calls, skype calls. Whatever I can do. I’m here. πŸ™‚

    Like

  7. Sounds familiar. You wanted a friend; they were looking for a puppet. It’s funny (not in a ha, ha way) that when you’re down, some people desert you, and when you’re up, still others desert you. The good thing is that you have discovered that you are the only true friend you will ever have. That’s why I have a dog–she gives me unconditional love, is never judgmental, and does spend all my money on booze and hookers!

    Like

Leave a Reply

