My blog

I’ve always wanted someone in my real life to be excited for me and curious about my blog. One friend asks me sometimes how its going. But doesn’t really know a lot about blogging. But is happy for me. A few days ago I was replying to comments while chilling on the couch with sailor. He asked me about what was happening with it and what the comments were about etc. Finally someone actually interested. Instead I turned the comp away from him and said no one sees my blog. He understood but I felt disappointed. I want to show him I really do. I want to share this part of me. A part those close to me have no idea about. I feel like I was defensive. Like I had something to hide. I’ve shared so much in here and I’m scared I’ll be judged. I don’t want him to see what i wrote about him or the ex. I don’t want to change what I share either. I’m not one for hiding things. My phone and comp get leaf out and down without passwords. I have nothing to hide when I’m with someone. Yet here I am feeling wrong

62 thoughts on “My blog

  1. I’m the opposite. I shared my blog with people in my real life first, but I’ve found your post very interesting. Something to think about. Some of us blog to get away from our real life and I think that should be okay too. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I had the same struggle for the first 6 months I blogged. I felt like I would be judged, ridiculed, etc. One day, I just decided to share one of my posts on Facebook and see where it took me. The amount of SUPPORT and excitement I’ve gotten in response is amazing… almost overwhelming.

    When you are ready, you will know. It will be the most amazing feeling!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I know exactly how you feel. On the one hand, I’m bummed when the people I know show no interest in my blog, but, on the other hand, I don’t want them to see how much more honest I am here than in real life. It is a difficult conundrum.

    Like

  4. I totally get what you are saying. I’m a diary writer which is so much safer … But also I feel at times isolating. I try to transport bits onto my blog but it’s not always easy – it would be if it were totally anonymous.. But I figured one day it would come out so might as well be open about it now. I get what you’re feeling!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. I get what are saying. I had a group of friends totally not interested in the blog. I told them about it, and they’d be like, okay. So when they asked me out of choice, I’d not tell them. But now, two friends I have, who you won’t believe ask me to update because I haven’t in a long time. So, don’t worry. You’ll find people like that too πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  6. It’s sometimes a slippery slope, isn’t it. During a writing course I took someone mentioned how she was writing a fictional work about something that never happened in her life but her husband read it and was offended because he didn’t want people to think it related to him. This isn’t like that but it’s still you coming to a place and thinking you can write freely and without thinking about who it ought offend or influence on your personal life. You shos be able to do that here but since this is a new relationship you don’t want anything to jeopardize it. In time, if he’s the write person, you will learn to trust him

    Like

  7. I’m in the same boat as you. My old guy knows about my blog and reads it occasionally still. My new guy does not know and at times I’d like to tell him. But then I think he may become uneasy with some of the things I have written about the old guy and him. So I’m biding my time too. I think someday I may share with him when the old guy is far enough in the past.

    Like

  8. Would you believe me if I told you I’m going through the same dilemma …? I don’t know why but I’m very protective of my blog. I talk to my friends about it but they don’t even care . There was a time when I used to write my thoughts in a diary . But I once caught my mom trying to read it . So I feel like this is one thing that is totally mine . I do share them with you guys but I don’t feel scared . Its probably because the chance of us meeting is very slim πŸ˜€

    Liked by 5 people

  9. My journal is private, only for me. My blog is much like my journal in some ways. It’s not something my friends need to see because none would understand as they were not traumatized in childhood. I feel it is perfectly OK to have a place to freely express what I need. There’s a time and place for everything. I share things with friends and my husband I don’t share here. It’s a choice, and I decide.

    Like

  10. I completely understand you and your wanting to have your close ones interested in what you write. I’m in the same boat or have been. In the past I had a different blog and I felt like I was begging people to read it. As silly as it sounds…it affected me. So when I decided to start blogging again I chose to not tell anyone I knew. I only wanted people to come upon it because there was something they were interested in and not because I told them to. For the longest time I let it anonymous until I didn’t. So….all that to say I’m with you and want to tell you that I appreciate your writing, your truth and your ability to share. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 4 people

  11. However I found your blog, I find it to be one that I look forward to reading! Telling your truth can be scary…and freeing too. Often, no one judges! If they do, they are probably not needed. Adding a new relationship to the mix is even more alarming. Going into it with nothing to loose works great…until we suddenly feel we have so much to loose! My first reaction was “not good!” However, reading the whole post, I agree with others…in the right time…you will know…no need to rush. When you do share, be open with Sailor about why you held back. It feels like he will understand.

    Liked by 1 person

    • So agree on the part where is no need to hide and there is nothing to hide, but sometimes other people don’t understand what you are trying to do and achieve, and they can ruin some of your work or delay your progress. Unfortunately, I would recommend to create a very strong password and hide your hard work. He will understand that social networking( blogging) is a part of your life now, and you have to do what is right for you!
      In many different situations it’s your heart, your creation, your idea! Don’t let him take it away from you, plus he can totally read from his device everything you have accomplished!
      Good luck and thank you for sharing! Love you blog! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

    • I appericiate it. This person would be the one I’d share it with if I did with anyone. I’d say he’d be understanding with it all. I need to try to let go of the fear. I’m not use to anyone be truly interested in me or things I do

      Liked by 1 person

  12. I’ve been blogging about three months. I just told my children last week. They did not inquire (except to repeatedly over the last three months ask, ”WHAT are you DOING on there so much?”) about anything I am or have written. I believe as one commenter stated: “I only wanted people to come upon it because there was something they were interested in…” This blog is for me. I also agree, at some point in time you may want to share with sailor or not. These are your thoughts, your inclination to keep them private (for now) is your instinct talking to you…in my opinion.

    Liked by 3 people

  13. Going through the same thing. Our close friends knows about our blog and show their “support” but never seem interested in it. I just started dating someone new that is really interested in the blog but I have yet to share him the link, worried to be judge or something. One day will share it with him…just not now lol – Josie

    Like

  14. When I write a story I never share it with the people that are close to me. I feel uncomfortable because in my stories I express my feelings and show who I realy am. It is normal to feel scared that you will be judged.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. It should not come between you in any way. Couples don’t have to do everything the same and know all tyne intricacies of our ‘hobby’ if you can call it that. Maybe its just too early days yet but I would try not to be defensive as that could cause a problem. It will happen when the time is right kelzbelphotography, don’t worry about it.

    Like

  16. Take it from someone on the other end of the spectrum (everyone close to me reads my blog) and sometimes I wish I hadn’t done that because if I really want to blog about something I am ranting over I have to watch what I say in fear it may upset anyone close to me. Blogs are kind of like a diary. And sometimes I blog but keep in in my drafts for only me to see….and I don’t like that 😦

    Like

  17. I love to write and sometimes it is about nothing and others it is about something. I have never held writing as close to my heart as I do now. It has given me a voice and a way to get my point across without sounding bitchy. My husband reads my blogs and sometimes I make reference to him and situations that we have had. It has not been a problem and is really a starting block for some great conversations. You are not wrong for keeping this a secret for as long as you need too. You will eventually show him and you will find out how excepting and honest of a relationship you are in. If a person can not love you for venting or expressing then it may not be the right person. You will have nothing to fear when you are honest and truthful with yourself and others.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Ohhh, you will show him when you ready, for me blogging is like a diary where I can share with all or some… I would show him your blog only until you are ready. Answer his question… πŸ˜€ You’re doing really well! Good Luck!!

    Like

  19. Well, I’m trying to persuade an autistic boy to write a blog – as if from his dog, starting with what she sees, smells, hears on her walks. Maybe he can come to share his take on the world that way without worrying about saying things hurtful to himself or others. A blog-story can be truthful in different ways, literary as well as literal. If you’re still feeling your way between those two, it may not yet be time to share it with the nearest and dearest.

    Like

  20. Don’t be afraid to show someone your blog. Especially someone who means a lot to you!! You have so many people who you dont even know who sees your blog. You share so much with us unafraid, you shouldn’t be afraid to show it to someone who knows you. It’s your journey as a blogger and as a person. DON’T BE AFRAID!!!! Xo!!

    Like

  21. My parents know of my blog, I’ve told them titles and they have politely declined to read…. the hardest person to let into my blog world was my best friend, who has always been so supportive of everything I’ve done, but I was so worried she wouldn’t like it. She’s read a couple and appears to have forgotten about it, but it was great to have one less person for it to be a secret from. I’m being very careful not to turn into Liz Jones from You magazine….

    Like

  22. I’m actually afraid people in my real life will find my blog. I”m afraid that they will make fun of me. Here I am, 30 years old, and still afraid to truly share with the people in my life.

    Like

  23. I began my blog as a foodie, and although I found it liberating, I also found it difficult to maintain once I began doing recipe testing for a food writer. Years later I wandered into the reality of the ‘simple post’ and this is where I found my greatest joy. Just writing and reading from different areas of interest have opened my world. That being said, I think you are wise to not rush into every little bit of your world until you feel sure that you want him to know and see all facets. It’s not that you are hiding anything, you are simply protecting yourself and giving both him and yourself more time to enjoy learning about your nuances.

    Like

  24. I am always impressed with people who step out of the box. I post under what I was told my name was in “Mediation” once long ago. I have unfortunately or fortunately depending on how you see it been slowly leaving my old name behind and in a few weeks the name will be legal..

    I find that depending on your viewpoint people are accepting. It is your view more then accepting your view at issue. People do at times have a hard time accepting that a blog or post on Facebook is just that your opinion on something. Your Viewpoint. While their thoughts are enjoyed the fact that it is your view has to be counted. Most rational people understand this and you should be fine…

    I have very few friends who share my view but, I have many who love the information I give so it works out as the information as I see it is more important then myself..

    Like

  25. Right there with you! My husband knows that I blog and knows that I don’t feel comfortable sharing even though there isn’t anything in it that he can’t read. A year ago I started one and shut it down after a few months, my daughter (19 at the time) was constantly making comments that made me feel like I was being criticized at times and in time made me feel like I had to censor everything and made the blogging so not worth it. Completely understand!

    Like

  26. you have tons of comments on this post, looks to me like a lot of people want to read what you share…. those close to you will too if they know it is important to you and if you teach them a little about what blogging is. I think we all underestimate those closest to us, I think they care more than we know. i just recently discovered blogging and am not at all shy about sharing my thoughts through my poetry. If others understand that is great, if they want to judge, go ahead, they will miss all the good stuff and it will be their problem, not mine. Keep writing, your thoughts are valuable! much peace and love to you.

    Like

  27. Kelz, you have nothing to be ashamed of. Everything you wrote, about him, about the ex, about your life, is part of your journey. If he is the one for you he will understand that the journey you wrote about is what made you the woman he (loves) and wants to be with.

    Like

Leave a Reply

