Dreaming of death

I’ve written about my dreams a lot here. I live with this daily. Sometimes like over the past month they have lessoned, unsure why. Maybe having someone with me is making me feel more safe and secure. Anyways one type I still have is breaking my heart. Death. I’m not scared of it. Heck I tried to die twice. I know it’ll happening, hopefully many years away. So I don’t understand them happening so often. One a few weeks on still plays on my mind.

I was at the beach, after a storm. The ocean was extremely ruff and deafening loud. I thought I heard my name, thought I was going crazy. Then I saw them my step sons a metre or so from shore. Waves bashing them about like rag dolls. They were screaming Kelz, them mummy, mummy help. Helppp. I was rooted on the spot. I couldn’t swim well. I screamed back that I’d get help. Frantically looking about there was no one. Then I look back as both my precious boys disappeared from sight. I woke shaking and nearly in tears. I’d do anything for those boys.

I’d give anything to stop dreaming about death. Anything

29 thoughts on “Dreaming of death

  1. I don’t know if you smoke but nicotine can cause nightmares. Sometimes having security, as in a partner, will cause these things to go away. Either way I hope they stop for you.

    Like

  2. I used to suffer from nightmares too, so I can understand what you must be going through. My mom made me wear an Iron bangle, which might sound ridiculous to you, but I haven’t had any nightmares since. I hope you’d try that. πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. I realize that liking and not commenting may not be helpful so, your dream? I know this will sound dumb but maybe it’s a conscience? Trying to tell you something? I’ve never really had recurring dreams like that but (sorry about to spam a paragraph now ;-;) I did have a dream where I killed (poisoned) my baby sister, I woke up crying, mad, disgusted at myself to ever think to dream of something like that!!! my parents got it into my head that I was jealous of her when I wasnt, but even now I love my sister more than ever!~ Once I realized that I actually may have been jealous just a bit I was happy that the dream was finally proven wrong, that I love and cherish my sister. So think about it? Maybe you have unrequited feelings that you never really got out of your system? If that’s not it then I’m not sure, sorry if I wasn’t much help to anyone, I just thought someone should hear an opinion.

    Like

  4. You have someone in your life that is stable and it is new for you. The subconscious fears are often played out in dreams. Perhaps you are afraid of losing your new love and his children you have grown close to. Try using subliminal tapes when you sleep. I used to use them all the time and I have noticed a difference since I stopped. I was sleeping better before and feeling more energized and confident. They may help.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I think I would be quite the curmudgeon if I dreamed the same dream. That’s very difficult to shake off. Sometimes poor sleep and anxiety or a sense of loss of control will program nightmares like the one you describe. Try to get good sleep all week and before bed imagine good outcomes for the things that concern you. Simple things will help alleviate the nightmares and that will in turn reduce the anxiety related to the nightmares. Think sweet dreams and sleep well πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. I read somewhere that death in dreams “symbolizes” change. If you’re dreaming about another person’s death, you might feel like they’re growing away from you. I keep dreaming about my cat dying; it makes for a great lack of incentive to go to sleep.
    On the other hand, it’s also kind of a weird reminder of what really matters. Maybe make the dreams an excuse to grab your boys and give them warm hugs.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. I used to have a recurring dream of death. Quite frightening to me as a teenager. The more I worried about it the more it happened. I started playing calming music, sounds of the ocean, etc. as I was going to sleep and soon they went away. I hope yours stop very soon.

    Like

  8. I get bad dreams from anything dairy. Milk, cheese, etc. I think it generally is foods that can easily ferment. I don’t know if that is your problem, but I thought I would pass it on. πŸ˜‰

    Like

  9. Instead of analyzing your dream, I am simply going to say I can relate. I have also tried to die and have dreamt of death. It also doesn’t scare me. The good thing about it for me at least is that I have gotten past my year long (nine hospitalizations) suicidal ideation. I still feel it sometimes, but for the most part I am more future oriented. Believe in yourself! Things WILL get better.

    Like

  10. Don’t worry about the dream too much although it may seem depressing it’s actually a sign of spiritual growth. Being on the beach and watching the rough waves, all the battles you have taken to get where you are now. Your two stepsons drowning is simply them no longer fully in your life, and not having full control over them being able to watch over them full time.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I’m sorry you are having these dreams and therefore, not deep, well sleep.
    Dreams are mostly symbolic. Not literal. Remember that. Good advice in these comments.
    Also, You can actually change the outcome of your dreams. Once I found that out (through a conference) I find myself saying, in my dreams. wait. This is a dream and I don’t like the way it’s going. So I have actually ended some dreams that caused me restlessness or changed them to pleasant things.
    May you be blessed with peace…
    cate b

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Kelz, nightmares are what make us dreamers….. don’t know why they come and don’t care really. Only know they cause me to write some of my best poetry and songs… I think what I hear you saying that you are afraid of loss – not necessarily death. I mean that’s what death is to us, really, a loss of love, something dear, someone dear… I don’t know if you’ve discovered this yet or not, but mama of two little ones – you are a poet… May I ask why the smoke rings in your cute cartoon resemble the letter “D” – ? Love the way you write…

    Like

  13. I agree with what others have said about a feeling of insecurity or helplessness. Maybe you feel you won’t be able to help your children when they really need it? I went through something similar when my husband passed away. I hope the dreams stop for you soon!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. I used to dream about death, a lot. And about losing my parents. They were some of my most recurring nightmares, but I’m so thankful now that they have stopped. You know, deep down in your subconscious mind you’re afraid of losing your loved ones; so please stop worrying about that πŸ™‚ I’m sure these stupid nightmares involving your boys will stop.

    Like

  15. In dreams we can see what we wish we could do, (I dream of using rollerskates to do more efficiently a job I used to do) What we should do, (Trying to help someone ,while dragging your feet in quicksand) and what we want to. (your imagination here) Falling, drowning, crushing, are all sequences in your mind, but rarely are they harbingers of doom, unless one is withholding information from oneself . Do not mean to sound spooky! Dreams are to be learned from, not to be afraid of. My opinion, W

    Like

  16. Hmmm, I’m not sure about where your nightmares come from but I know a common reason for nightmares is often comes from whats going on with you; how you feel daily and what you’re going through. I myself have long history with nightmares where I’m being hunted down by a psychopath or I’m being chased by cannibals and so on.

    Like

  17. change is like death. people rarely like it. most people fear it, especially when it means they have to keep on living through change. that’s life this side of Heaven. the best way to relieve your distress over these dreams is to embrace the changes in your life even when they mean releasing something you have been grasping tightly. it does not mean you will lose it entirely; it only means that aspect of your former circumstances will change to some degree in the way you experience it. let go of your fear. examine the blessings on your plate. consider whether they are worth the acceptance by you, as opposed to the cost you fear. to embrace those blessings without fear, you will need to start trusting that they are given by the God who is unchanging and who loves you with abundant mercy. He knows your heart for all the dear ones in your life. He is able to work all things together for good for those who know Him. praying for you… ❀

    Like

  18. Dreaming of death – end of old ways and the beginnings of new paths for new journeys. What a great idea. It can really make it easier to understand when you put ‘pen to paper’!

    Like

  19. Errr. Death dreams are quite common. Leave one with a sweat. Reason why? Don’t know. Ask Dr Sigmund I guess. Dreams are a system that “cleans up” our head while we sleep. They’re therapy of sorts. What i know is that one of the best ways to get rid of Death dreams is to tell them to others. You’ve now told 18,000 others about it. ‘should help!
    πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

