Creative in the kitchen

My whole life I’ve doubted my abilities with cooking. As a mama I’ve had no choice but to keep going. I love cooking and baking and find it so rewarding. Lately I’ve been trying some many new things. And I’d say I’ve had a success rate of about 90%.

I’ve made simple but yummy eggs Benedict, fruit crumbles. I made my first jams and new relish. I’ve baked with new recipes.

For years I’ve wanted to make my own pasta. Finally a couple of days ago I brought a pasta machine for $25 down from $100. Loved the 75% discount until the machine crapped out after one roll of pasta. My hubby pulled it apart and fixed it. So here made from flour and eggs and a touch of oil. I made fettachini, spaghetti and a sundried  tomatoe, feta and spinach ravioli with a butter sauce. Took for ever kneading it but I impressed .myself and my hubby and kids loved it

image

image

image

I also need to use up a heap of produce. So made sweet, hot, dried and frozen mixed chillies. Old school pickled onions 3 different ways. And red pickled onions plus min

image

t sauce.

I’m feeling proud trying all these new things. Despite being broke we’re eating better then ever with so much different things. Can’t wait until the next lot

15 thoughts on “Creative in the kitchen

  1. Isn’t it frustrating that it’s more expensive to eat healthy than eating junk? You may not be confident in your cooking skills, but they sound good to me. I can’t handle anything with more than four ingredients.

    Like

Leave a Reply

