Do you ever write letters

You know the other person will never see? I’ve just written a goodbye letter to my husband that he’ll never read. I wrote it because I knew I have to let him go. I don’t want to, I want him more then words can describe. But I have to face it he clearly doesn’t want contact with me. So I have to respect that. I will not close the door, if I’m contacted I’ll answer. But I have to accept this. And my god its killing me. I’m not leaving him I’m trying to respect his wishes. I’ve not given up on him and I truly hope he comes home but I can’t force him to be with me, to want me. The love from me to him is ten fold. Its not something I want. I don’t know how to block him on fb because its so final. I don’t know how to pack his stuff. I don’t know what to do with it all including his truck and ring. And please don’t bag him out or tell me I’m better off because we’re not. Please don’t say time will heal. Or I’ll get over him. Please just don’t. My world has crumbled and I have to do this. Not be selfish for once. To stop hassling the man. I’m broken and I don’t need negatively

13 thoughts on “Do you ever write letters

  1. Writing is the best thing you can do. Whether it’s a blog, short story or poetry everyone should write. Explore your own space, instead of focusing on the other person or their absence focus on yourself, educate, explore and expand. The most important relationship we’ll ever have is with ourselves. That might sound selfish but I mean this with positivity and of an alternate method of thinking.

    Letter writing is a therapeutic and almost meditative experience. The stream of consciousness is as intriguing and illuminating to the writer as the reader. If you ever need a penpal let us know. 😉

    – Matt

    Liked by 1 person

  2. When I was in recovery, we were told to write letters & not send them because it was a good way to get our emotions out of ourselves without impacting the other person negatively.

    What gets me is that you don’t know what he’s doing.

    You don’t know that he’s not coming back.

    You don’t know if he’s going to work or not.

    You don’t know if he’s written off the marriage.

    You don’t know anything.

    While not knowing is MUCH HARDER than knowing … believe me, I know !! I’ve been there !! … you seem to be making so many assumptions.

    Work with WHAT YOU KNOW.

    You know that you have two children who need your love & attention.
    You know that you have other family that will support you & you can support.
    You know that you have skills. Isn’t this a photography blog? Where are the pictures? I’m beginning to think that it’s been hacked. Get out there & create some art.

    I still don’t understand why a married woman can’t get any information on her husband’s medical condition but I guess the laws are different in New Zealand than in the United States.

    When my husband took off with another woman, I thought I was literally GOING TO DIE. I actually tried to kill myself FOUR TIMES. But I didn’t die. I survived & now I see that his leaving me was a GIFT.

    You can’t see these things when they’re happening to you.

    You can only see them years later.

    Hang in there. My prayers are with you.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It’s a point you have to come to, to allow yourself to heal. You’re not giving up, you’re just moving to a better place. When he does come back, you will be better equipped to help him once you reach that place for yourself.

    You have to concentrate on the now. You need to take care of yourself and your two beautiful children. Focus on the concrete, focus on something to give you peace. You are an amazing photographer. Put energy into that to help you give yourself a balance.
    Take care my friend you are in my thoughts!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I am sorry to read what is happening with your marriage, but respecting your husbands wishes is the best thing you can do. That way, if he comes back you can start anew, but if he doesn’t you will know you tried and space is sometimes what we need.

    Writing letters is the best thing you can do, you can express your innermost thoughts and feelings knowing they are safe – My reiki master told me to write a letter to every person that had hurt me in some way, get all my feelings down and it didn’t matter if it made sense because even though I was going to put my letters in an envelope and write that like it was ready for a stamp and be posted, it was going to go outside.

    He told me to sit and take some time and hold the envelopes in my hand and then burn each one so all the negativity from me went back into the atmosphere – it has been something I have fallen back on countless times.

    I hope your marriage, with time, space and maybe guidance or a counsellor survives.

    I am sending you some positive 🤗 ❤

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Dear one: I have been there. I thought it would kill me, I wanted to die. When he married another less than a year later It tore my soul. Like any death you will NEVER be the same. That’s ok. It’s how the journey goes. This was over 22 years ago and I have been married for the past 20 years to another man. I love him but NEVER the same way I loved the last one. I couldn’t love that way again. It’s the truth. I pray you heal, I pray you find your way out. I pray you come back to sanity and feeling joy again. Your not alone I promise you this.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Everyone has written letters that will never be sent. Sometimes, I write emails. Either way, it is incredibly common. What do you do with his stuff? Nothing. Leave it where it lies. When you are ready, you’ll start putting it away. Just give yourself time and take one moment at a time.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

